Pressure Equipment Directive 2014/68/EU

This directive applies to all equipment and assemblies with a maximum allowable pressure (PS) of more than 0.5 bar over atmospheric pressure (1013 mbar) to. Pressure in the vacuum region is expressed in accordance with the Pressure Equipment Directive as a negative value, making devices that only work in the vacuum region is not covered by the Pressure Equipment Directive.
Pressure Instruments are divided into four groups:

  • Reservoir (storage tank, boiler, etc.)
  • Pipes (incl. Flanges, nozzles, carrying, lifting lugs, etc.)
  • Pressure accessories parts (pressure gauge, control valve, check valve, etc.)
  • Equipment with safety function (safety valve, rupture discs, etc.)

Assemblies contain several pieces of pressure devices, which are connected by a manufacturer to constitute a coherent functional unit.

Implementation of the Directive

After determining a maximum of limiting values ​​for pressure (PS), temperature (TS) and the nominal size (DN) or volume (V), we have to find out the suitable category (I - IV) for the pressure equipment, based on conformity assessment diagrams.

Pressure equipment, reaching the limits of Article 4 (3) of the Directive at the most, must be prepared according to "sound engineering practice" and marked with a manufacturer's identification (no CE marking)/usage instructions.

Each category has assigned modules showing the necessary obligations of the manufacturer (e.g. creation of technical documentation, Internal production control, quality assurance system, turning on a notified body for the prototype test/design review etc.), also for assemblies.

Depending on the category (module), the involvement of a notified body is required. Depending on the category the notified body checks e.g. the technical documentation, safety equipment, the QS system, etc. and does a pressure test.

Before placing the pressure equipment or assembly on the market/putting the pressure equipment or assembly into service it has to be marked with the CE marking (affixed visibly, legibly and indelibly), as well as to issue an EU declaration of conformity according to Pressure Equipment Directive 2014/68/EU. The technical documentation and the EU declaration of conformity must be available for the national market surveillance authority over a period of 10 years.

We will gladly assist you on categorizing or during the procedure of conformity assessment according to Pressure Equipment Directive 2014/68/EU for an assembly/pressure device.

  • Determination of the pressure equipment conformity assessment category/modules
  • Creation of a risk assessment (risk analysis & evaluation) to Pressure Equipment Directive
  • calls of all declarations of conformity according to Pressure Equipment Directive
  • creation or checking of documentation/manual
  • Consulting due to the involvement of a notified body

Druckgeräterichtlinie 2014/68/EU

Diese Richtlinie trifft auf alle Geräte bzw. Baugruppen mit einem maximal zulässigen Druck (PS) von mehr als 0,5 bar über Atmosphärendruck (1013 mbar) zu. Druck im Vakuumbereich wird entsprechend der Druckgeräterichtlinie als Negativwert ausgedrückt, wodurch Geräte, die nur im Vakuumbereich arbeiten, nicht unter die Druckgeräterichtlinie fallen.
Druckgeräte werden in vier Gruppen eingeteilt:


• Behälter (Sammelbehälter, Kessel, usw.)
• Rohrleitungen (inkl. Flansche, Stutzen, Trageelemente, Hebeösen, usw.)
• Druckhaltende Ausrüstungsteile (Manometer, Stellventil, Rückschlagklappe, usw.)
• Ausrüstungsteile mit Sicherheitsfunktion (Sicherheitsventil, Berstscheiben, usw.)


Bei Baugruppen handelt es sich um mehrere Druckgeräte, die von einem Hersteller zu einer zusammenhängenden funktionalen Einheit verbunden werden.


Anwendung der Richtlinie

Nach Festlegung der maximalen Grenzwerte für Druck (PS), Temperatur (TS) und der Nennweite (DN) bzw. Volumen (V) muss für das Druckgerät anhand der Konformitätsbewertungsdiagramme die jeweilige Kategorie (I – IV) ermittelt werden.

Druckgeräte, die höchstens die Grenzwerte des Artikels 4 (3) der Richtlinie erreichen, müssen nach „guter Ingenieurpraxis“ hergestellt sein und mit einer Herstellerkennzeichnung (keine CE-Kennzeichnung) bzw. Benutzungsanweisung versehen sein.

Jeder Kategorie sind Module zugewiesen, die die nötigen Verpflichtungen des Herstellers (z.B. Erstellung der technischen Unterlagen, Interne Fertigungskontrolle, QS-System, Einschalten einer benannten Stelle zur Baumuster-/Entwurfsprüfung, usw.), auch für Baugruppen, aufzeigen.

Je nach Kategorie (Modul) ist die Einschaltung einer benannten Stelle erforderlich. Abhängig von der Kategorie prüft die benannte Stelle u.a. die technischen Unterlagen, die Sicherheitseinrichtungen, das QS-System, usw. und nimmt eine Druckprüfung vor.

Vor dem Inverkehrbringen/der Inbetriebnahme des Druckgeräts bzw. der Baugruppe ist diese(s) mit der CE-Kennzeichnung (gut sichtbar, leserlich und dauerhaft angebracht) zu versehen, sowie eine EU-Konformitätserklärung nach Druckgeräterichtlinie 2014/68/EU auszustellen. Die technischen Unterlagen und die EU-Konformitätserklärung sind für die nationalen Marktüberwachungseinrichtungen über einen Zeitraum von zehn Jahren bereitzuhalten.

Wie können wir helfen?

Gerne unterstützen wir Sie bei der Kategorisierung bzw. bei der Durchführung des Konformitätsbewertungsverfahrens nach Druckgeräte-Richtlinie 2014/68/EU für eine Baugruppe / ein Druckgerät.


• Ermittlung der Druckgeräte-Konformitätsbewertungskategorie/-module
• Erstellung einer Risikobeurteilung (Risikoanalyse und -bewertung) nach Druckgeräte-Richtlinie
• Einforderung aller Konformitätserklärungen nach Druckgeräte-Richtlinie
• Erstellung oder Prüfen der Dokumentation/Betriebsanleitung
• Beratung bei der Einschaltung einer benannten Stelle